Football News

Luka Modric wins the 2018 Ballon d'Or

Luka Modric wins the 2018 Ballon dOr

Modric wins the Ballon d'Or

Real Madrid and Croatia star Luka Modric has been crowned the Ballon d'Or winner for 2018, thereby ending the decade-long dominance from Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi.

The Croatia international celebrated his third-straight Champions League crown with Los Blancos last term and he continued with the same vein of form at the summer World Cup where he was hugely influential towards his country's progress to the finals.

Owing to this, he was already recognised with the UEFA Player of the Year and The Best FIFA Men's award earlier in the season and he has now bagged the Ballon d'Or crown, which is widely regarded as the most prestigious individual accolade, presented by France Football.

Meanwhile, Ronaldo, who was aiming for a record-sixth Ballon d'Or crown could only finish as the runner-up while Antoine Griezmann secured the third position despite guiding France to their second World Cup crown earlier in the year.